efe-epaTorrelavega, Spain

Australian cyclist Rohan Dennis (BMC) won stage 16 of the Vuelta a España road race on Tuesday, while Britain's Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) kept the overall leader's red jersey.

Dennis clocked the fastest time of 37 minutes and 57 seconds in the 32-kilometer individual time trial stage between Santillana del Mar and Torrelavega.

His BMC teammate Joseph Rosskopf of the United States came second, 50 seconds off the pace, followed by Spain's Jonathan Castroviejo (Sky) with an identical time.

Although Yates finished the stage in the 13th spot, one minute and 28 seconds behind Dennis, the British rider still has a 14-second lead in the general classification over Spain's Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), who finished 15th, one minute and 35 seconds off the pace.

Dutch rider Steven Kruijswijk (Lotto Jumbo) climbed to fourth in the general classification thanks to his fourth-place finish in Tuesday's time trial, 51 seconds off the pace.

Wednesday's stage 17 will cover a 157-kilometer mountainous route from Getxo to Oiz in the Basque Country.