efe-epaMadrid Desk

The Netherlands, Belgium and Italy were among a growing list of European Union countries that on Sunday decided to ban flights from the United Kingdom amid concerns about a contagious new strain of the coronavirus that has emerged in southern England.

The Dutch health ministry said in a statement Sunday that the same strain had been observed in a sample in the Netherlands in early December. EFE-EPA