efe-epaSports Desk

Frenchman Stéphane Peterhansel sealed his 14th Dakar Rally win in the car category on Friday while Argentine Kevin Benavides won his first motorbike title on a day marred by the death of Frenchman Pierre Cherpin, five days after he crashed during the event.

Mini driver Peterhansel’s victory came as little surprise given his advantage over his Qatari rival Nasser Al-Attiyah (Toyota) heading into the final stage of the 43rd Dakar Rally, held for the second consecutive year in Saudi Arabia. EFE-EPA