Bangladesh opposition parliamentarians boycotted a swearing-in ceremony on Thursday amid allegations that the Dec.30 election was rigged in favor of the incumbent Prime Minister who won a third term in a row.

All but two of the 288 newly-elected lawmakers of the ruling coalition led by the Awami League of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, however, took oath in Dhaka, Parliament Secretariat spokesperson Tarique Mahmud told EFE.

Three independent parliamentarians were also sworn-in.

The Awami League and its allies won 288 of the 300 parliamentary seats in Sunday's election. The opposition coalition led by the Bangladesh Nationalist Party won just seven.

"Awami MP Syed Ashraful Islam could not take oath due to illness. Jatiya Party (an Awami League ally) MP HM Ershad will take oath later in the day," Mahmud said.

The spokesperson said that BNP lawmakers were also invited but they boycotted the ceremony.

If the opposition legislators do not take oath within four months, they will be disqualified and their seats deemed vacant.

The opposition has alleged that the election was a farce, calling for fresh polls.

Bangladesh voters re-elected Hasina for a third consecutive term on Dec.30, a day marked by violence that claimed 17 across the country.

Either the BNP or the Awami League has governed Bangladesh since 1991, except for a brief period of military rule between 2006 and 2008.