Villages from six Ecuadorian provinces were covered Sunday with ash from the Sangay volcano, located in the Amazon region, the country's president said.

"We are alert to the ash fall of the Sangay in Guayas, Los Ríos, Santa Elena, Chimborazo, Manabí and Bolívar! We deployed emergency teams to assist citizens and our farmers and ranchers," Lenín Moreno wrote on his Twitter account. EFE-EPA