Polling stations opened in Kyrgyzstan on Sunday for the first parliamentary elections since the Central Asian country's political system changed from parliamentary to presidential.

Voting will begin at 8am and end at 8pm.

A total of 3,703,429 people are eligible to vote to elect members of the single-chamber parliament, or Jogorku Kenesh, for a five-year term.

The new legislature will now have 90 deputies elected for the first time through a mixed system, in place of the 120 that form the outgoing parliament.

Voters will elect 54 deputies from 1,015 candidates on the lists of 21 registered parties and 36 from 296 candidates in single-mandate constituencies.