The Venezuelan government criticized the European Union on Monday for interfering in its affairs after Brussels imposed sanctions on 11 officials, including Vice President Delcy Rodriguez.

"Venezuela categorically rejects the continued aggression and interference in the sovereign affairs of our country by its imposition of restrictive measures contrary to International Law on 11 high officials of the Venezuelan government," the Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

The Venezuelan Foreign Ministry said "what is surprising is the flagrant subordination" of the EU to the government of Donald Trump, and guaranteed that it "will not accept threats from any power or group of aligned nations with imperial intentions."

In that sense, the ministry repeated once more that the "Venezuelan people are sovereign and independent" and "that our democratic institutions have arisen from universal suffrage and will respond to all aggressions in due proportion."

EU foreign ministers imposed sanctions Monday on another 11 officials, besides the seven sanctioned last January, considering them "responsible for human rights violations and for undermining democracy and the rule of law in Venezuela."

Among those sanctioned Monday besides Delcy Rodriguez were Vice President Tareck el Aissami, the top economy official; Sergio Rivero, inspector general of the National Bolivarian Armed Forces (FANB); Jesus Suarez, commander general of the Bolivarian Army; and Ivan Hernandez, chief of Military Counterintelligence.

Rounding out the list were Education Minister Elias Jaua; Sandra Oblitas, vice president of the National Electoral Council (CNE); Freddy Bernal, national coordinator of the Local Committees of Supply and Production; Assistant District Attorney Katherine Nayarith Harrington; CNE member Socorro Elizabeth Hernandez; and CNE Secretary General Xavier Antonio Moreno.

The EU has barred these Venezuelan officials from traveling to its territory and the freezing of all their assets in the European Union.